Welcome to my gallery of quilts.  I live in Brighton, Michigan.  I have been quilting for 40 years, evolving from traditional patterns and hand quilting to more modern/art styles with mostly machine quilting.

I hope you enjoy these!   Comments/questions about purchases and commissions are welcome.  Katie

kthorne@umich.edu

 

This is a large quilt, about 56 X 56.  It hangs on my sewing room wall.  2004

quilt and studio

 

There are more quilts to view, see sidebar for categories.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “”

  1. Your quilts are wonderful. I think of Karen as the artist in your family and you as the writer, but it so much more wonderfully complicated and intermingled than that. You may know that when my mother started quilting in her 60’s to use up sewing scraps she found a defining joy of her life. I have just finished airing the quilts she left for me. My daughters both use the idea of quilting in their work. Haven’t been to Paducah for a few years but did go to Missouri Star a year ago. Thanks for sharing your quilts.

    Shirley Whitehouse Foley

    Like

    1. Thank you Shirley! I remember that your mother checked over my hand quilting on an early bed quilt that I made for Karen and David, and she gave her seal of approval. I was very proud! She did some wonderful work. Tom and I went to Paducah last year and of course I brought home lots of fabric! I need to post a photo of my sewing room fabric collection soon. 🙂

      Like

  2. Love these. We treasure our wedding quilt and are enjoying it right now, since the weather has gotten cooler. Hugs to Katie, you are very talented!

    Like

Leave a Reply

