Guatemalan influence

Some years ago, Priscilla Bianchi, a quilt artist from Guatemala, came to the Greater Ann Arbor Quilt Guild and taught a class.  She brought with her some scraps of hand-woven fabrics from Guatemala to share with us.  I made a small quilt I called “Dancers”.  It’s still one of my favorites.  I also bought her book, which is full of colorful wonderful quilts.

Just recently I found Priscilla on Facebook and was inspired again to use those bright colors.  I got out some of my many stripes, including a Guatemalan fabric I bought recently (it was a “scarf” offered by a church group that has a mission there).  The result is a bright red quilt I call Guatemalan Fiesta.  Here they are.

Dancers

 

Guatemala Fiesta

4 thoughts on “Guatemalan influence”

Leave a Reply

